Review for “The Hurting Game”

I will not review this book but will talk one to one with you. Few would mention it, but I first have to commend you on how clean the writing was. I found few grammatical and spelling errors, meaning you took time to polish your work as best you could before presenting it. Also, your writing style is pretty impressive. I think you are gifted in describing the details of a setting and the mood of it. It was one of the first things that kept me interested even before I got to learn what exactly the story was about. Now, for the story . The main character–and some of the supporting–were fleshed out enough for me to care. Their words and actions said who they were, as opposed to you listing their attributes as many authors usually do before the story even truly starts. Its always a better way for a reader to understand the characters. I enjoyed that you drew me in right into the thick of things from the beginning through an action scene. That way I didn’t have to be bored going through dozens of pages of back story and such before something interesting finally happens. I would recommend it for anyone who enjoys thrillers, especially YA action. It was definitely worth a read. The only drawback I’d like to mention is related to the pace of the story. It’s definitely action packed, but I think it would seem even more fast-paced without a good chunk of internal monologue and the characters being left to themselves and their wayward thoughts. It would make the book a lot shorter, as well. Keep reading books and writing them, its the only way to grow as an author. I’m sure if you keep at it, it won’t be too long before more and more people get to hear of Alex Rushmer.

Author: parthobose

The NY Literary Magazine 2017 Best Story Award Nominee Partho Bose was born and raised in New Delhi and is a management graduate. He has been an advertising professional and professor. He has been part of many successful campaigns in his lifetime. Partho’s favorite past time is reading thriller novels. He thinks himself to be the best example of armchair adventurer though his favorite outing to unwind himself is wild life sanctuaries and has travelled length and breadth of the country to experience the flora and fauna of every region. This inspired him to take a plunge in writing with DREAMS IMPLANT he took his first shot at serious writing.

Leave a comment